Installing Live Mesh on Windows Server 2008 R2

Posted: November 30, 2009 in Computers and Internet
I was not able to install Live Mesh on my Windows Server 2008 R2 (full) system until I added the registry entry below:
 
Windows Registry Editor Version 5.00
[HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Policies\Microsoft\Windows\Installer]
"DisableMSI"=dword:00000000
 
See this machine policy setting: DisableMSI
 
This entry was eluded to by the Live Mesh installation error message I was receiving. I though it might have been UAC or compatibility issues, but I only got it installed after the registry change.
 
Live Mesh is now running fine. (And I removed the registry entry after the successful install).
Leave a Reply

